Pythian Games

put on your track shoes and write the miles

Bird of Paradise – the Animal that chooses you

with 6 comments

null

Part 1. The Bestowed Spirit Animal

Someone said to me once that we choose our spirit animal and she chose the spirit of the kookaburra. Sometimes though our spirit animal choses us. It follows us, connects to us, or is even inherited.

My mother said that the Bird of Paradise is what we take care of because it is the totem we have been given by our village. Yet I think of the vain male Bird of Paradise and nothing speaks to my spirit. When I think of the plainer females who are watching the display of these male birds I reflect on cultures where the women serve in the background and their men do not appear to give them freedom. I don’t want this bird to be my spirit animal.

But then I think of the glorious feathers, the way another species of it is on the flag a yellow emblem placed on black and red, and how they are hunted down for their beauty and need to be protected I am sure there is a connection I have a responsibility to remember. More I think of women who say that even though on the surface it looks like the men have all the power it is not actually the case. They are changing the future. They are running their villages more and more.

I am sure that we can choose the animals we love regardless of what we have been given to take care of, but we need to remember those that choose us. Perhaps this is how some great conservationists feel drawn to lions or to gorillas. For my part I have never seen the Bird of Paradise that is my inherited totem. Yet I acknowledge it as a part of my identity- something that chooses me.

Part 2. The Embraced Spirit Animal- coming later.

Written by June

June 9, 2008 at 11:06 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what a beautiful bird – thank you for sharing – and yes I hope the drive towards respect and equality for everyone continues

    kvwordsmith

    June 10, 2008 at 3:05 am

  2. Much food for thought in what you have written, also in the concept of that which bestows itself upon us as well as that which we choose…very interesting, thank you.

    Jill

    June 10, 2008 at 2:22 pm

  3. You have a beautiful totem.

    Vi

    woodnymph

    June 10, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  4. Fascinating post – much to think about. I have always believed the spirit animal chooses us, but perhaps it actually works both ways and there is something to learn from both.

    gailkav

    June 10, 2008 at 10:53 pm

  5. I’ve learned a lot about Birds of Paradise from this. Beautiful creatures!

    Lori

    June 12, 2008 at 6:03 pm

  6. You can be sure that despite her appearance the female bird of paradise has great power. Wonderful June!

    Heather Blakey

    June 12, 2008 at 10:51 pm


Leave a comment