Pythian Games

put on your track shoes and write the miles

Medicine bag

with 10 comments

identity boots 2- self portrait flag and feet

My healing bag is made of thin strands of synthetic plastic that are dyed in the traditional colours of my mother’s village in Papua New Guinea.

It is lined with silk from the kimono of a Japanese Princess. Persian Paisley Patterns adorn the silk and soften that synthetic plastic when I place my hands inside to feel what’s there. It is a healing bag that says remember Mother Theresa, Remember Tahirih, Remember all those soul women who wandered through the soul garden almost every step of their lives.

It is full of the choicest tiny strawberries to eat and smell. Another time my fingers are covered with the scent of the apricot coloured roses at my wedding. Things to remember, to savour fill the bag and in moderation they are healing.

Words waft out of the prayer book I have placed there, chants of Persian Poetess Tahirih, run through my veins and I feel the sisterhood of Faith and creativity and sacrifice. Love is a verb, prayers want to lift me to action.

The ocean cools me and now I swim with the dolphins and mermaids my girl students seem to love so much. But these mermaid girls can drive monster trucks under the sea, and the monster truck boys can learn to care for the ocean. The healing bag says humanity needs two wings, and both must be strong.

Both countries of mother and father… surround me with their love and give me gifts to tell my stories, to heal my soul, and to find that identity is what you store in your healing bag not just what you are born with.

Medicine bag prompt

I enjoyed the medicine bag prompt, My grandfather on the PNG side was a traditional healer.

More of June’s Work can be found at World Citizen Dreaming

Written by pearlz

June 16, 2008 at 3:44 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a beautiful response….I remember many years ago writing something similiar especially adding to what was left to us from our ancestors ….such preciopus gifts must be stored in ” The Medicine Bag” I still have mine it is hanging on the spinning wheel…….Lois ( Muse of the Sea) 16.6.08 on a beautiful crisp day by Port Phillip Bay

    lois (aka Druscilla)

    June 16, 2008 at 3:56 am

  2. Utterly fascinating June. I do hope that some of the PNG healing will keep morphing in to your work. Such a wonderful response. Thank you for gifting us this.

    Heather Blakey

    June 16, 2008 at 9:01 am

  3. this is a richness – I want to hear more – what a lovely beginning & center for your compass! Yours is a deep soul, and your medicine bag is full of wondrous images!

    kvwordsmith

    June 16, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  4. So beautiful and lyrical. What a rich heritage to draw from…

    imogen88

    June 16, 2008 at 1:32 pm

  5. So very touching and written with such warmth and depth, wonderful and truly soul-full.

    Jill

    June 16, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  6. Sounds like a beautiful medicine bag I must make one, or get one from one of opur local Native Americans. I have several small but precious items on my desk because I have no other place for them. A medicine bag would be perdect repository for them.

    Vi

    Vi jones

    June 16, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  7. What rich gifts we are receiving from so many cultures. Soul Food is blessed. Thank you, it’s a beautiful medicine bag, and the words are are deep and piercing.

    Gail

    June 16, 2008 at 10:58 pm

  8. I found this so fascinating. I look forward to hearing more about PNG culture and customs.

    Lori

    June 16, 2008 at 11:52 pm

  9. this is a beautiful post. Please excuse my ignorance but what is PNG?

    traveller2006

    June 26, 2008 at 8:20 pm

  10. Short for Papua New Guinea

    Pearlz

    June 27, 2008 at 2:12 am


Leave a Reply

