Pythian Games

put on your track shoes and write the miles

Rain Mirror

with 8 comments

contemplation river

My mirror watches rain
It splashes out my reflection
As that reflected meets that outside the mirror

Fingers dance in mirror movements
Reflection and I yawn,
We sing, we commune to find out
Who is real
I or reflection
I or the rain
The rain or myself

Rain dances down the mirror
I see the butterfly flower tree outside the window
The green tree frog suctioned to the window
I declare “I am the real
You are the reflected”

My reflection takes my words and processes them
Says nothing but hears the rain
Smells the rain, longs to touch the rain

Mirror rain, reflect raindrops
Raindrops reflect rain mirror
Rain watches mirror my-self.

By Gumbootspearlz

Written today (:

Inspired by the Mirror writing exercise Mirror Writing

More of June’s Work can be found at World Citizen Dreaming

Written by pearlz

June 12, 2008 at 12:10 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow – I haven’t read the mirror exercise, but it definitely must force you to get below the surface – everything here is so fresh! Very nice photo, too, I like all the color & movement…

    Kerry

    June 12, 2008 at 12:48 am

  2. Your picture is so alive and your words are thought provoking.

    Vi

    woodnymph

    June 12, 2008 at 2:32 pm

  3. The rhythm of this poem actually sounds like rain falling. Well done, Pearlz.

    Lori

    June 12, 2008 at 5:59 pm

  4. Agreed, Pearlz, the rhythm is organic and natural and the image is just gorgeous.

    gailkav

    June 12, 2008 at 10:34 pm

  5. It is a joy to be close to nature and to see oneself within it’s reflections.

    Heather Blakey

    June 12, 2008 at 10:46 pm

  6. Beautiful!!

    imogen88

    June 13, 2008 at 12:33 pm

  7. I like it!

    jodhiay

    June 13, 2008 at 9:04 pm

  8. Being able to pronounce that you are real is a rich reward from watching the rain mirror.

    Heather Blakey

    October 8, 2008 at 7:19 am


Leave a Reply

